Best Chicken Recipe… in a while

So I am really in love with SmittenKitchen. She does a great job photographing her food and coming up with fantastic recipes.

While I was looking around on there one time I notice she had a recipe on there that she had adapted from America’s Test Kitchen. For some reason this piqued my interest, so the following day I had a few extra bills in my pocket waiting to be spent and I took my son and we went to Barnes and Nobel.

The first magazine I saw, low and behold…… America’s Test Kitchen! It was the The Best of America’s Test Kitchen: Best Recipes and Reviews 2012. I was estatic. I snatched it up right away.

I have it flagged with so many colorful post-its – its bordering on ridiculous.

The first recipe I made was the “Crunchy Buttermilk Baked Chicken”. It was delicious. My son loved it! We used boneless, skinless chicken strips rather than the bone in legs and breasts. Sometimes you just have make what the kid will eat!

This recipe is not my own. It is too good not to share! I know that you have to be a member to get access online and many may not run out and purchase a magazine each month, they are pricy.

Here  is the recipe:

2 cups of buttermilk

1/4 cup of sour cream

1 (1 ounce) packet of ranch seasoning mix

1 tablespoon of salt

3 pounds of bone-in chicken pieces (breasts, thighs, and drumsticks, or mix, breasts cut in half) skin removed, trimmed

5 slices of hearty white sandwich bread, torn into pieces (we used panko and flavored bread crumbs that we had in the cabinet)

Vegetable oil spray

Instructions:

1. Adjust oven rack to lowest and middle positions and heat oven to 450 degreees.  Whisk buttermilk, sour cream, 2 T of ranch seasoning, and salt together in a large bowl until the salt dissolves. Add chicken, toss, refrigerate for 30 minutes to an hour, covered.

2. Get the bread crumbs ready. Either pulse them in the food processor until finely ground or like me, open the box and package they come in ;). If you are using your own bread bake the crumbs on a baking sheet on the middle rack, stirring occasionally, until light golden, about 5 minutes. Transfer to a shallow bowl.

3. Line baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray lightly with vegetable oil spray. Remove chicken from brine, allowing excess to drip back into bowl, and dredge in bread crumbs, pressing to adhere. Transer to prepared baking sheet and spray lightly with vegetable oil spary. Discard the brine.

4. Bake on lowest rack until bottom of chicken is golden brown, about 10 minutes. Move baking sheet to middle rack adn reduce oven temperature to 400 degrees. Bake until chicken is golden brown and breasts register 160 degrees and legs/thighs register 175 degrees, 20-25 minutes. Serve.

photo from grandmaskitchen.com

You cannot go wrong with this simple meal. It was very good! The chicken was very moist.

