Peanut Butter..Covered..Cake..Bites

Yesterday my husband did not get home from his job until 4:30 am (a long 12 hour day for him….poor guy) so I had it in my mind that my son and I would visit my favorite places – Michael’s, Target, and of course Joann.

We got a bunch of supplies to make all kinds of good treats, mostly Cake bites!

While we were at Michaels (they had a good sale – cheaper than Joann’s on candy coating and other things, FYI, if you want to make your own treats 🙂 ) we got many ingredients for the bites and some tools to make sugar cookies and royal icing later on.

When I got to the small book section they had I noticed Cake Pops by Bakerella. The price of the book was $19.95. I almost got it. I thought to myself, I bet my nook would be cheaper. Sure enough – $9.99! I have seen her site and know the author was on Martha Stewart, so I have had my eye on the book for a while.

We tried out the technique and it was so YUMMY!! Practice makes perfect.

I learned a few things while trying it out.

  1. Super Moist cake mixture, it is good and nice as a cake, yet it can create a fairly moist bite. If you can only find this type of box mix use only 1/4 of the frosting to mix at first, test, and then add a little more, NO more than half the container to make the balls. We used the recommended 3/4 rule and they were moist, not mushy, and I would have preferred them a bit drier.
  2. Only pull out a few balls/bites at a time to coat as the lights and heat of the room will soften them.
  3. Melt only 12-16 oz of candy coat at a time. We made 47 bites and had 24 oz of melts and still have a bit left over. Melt for 30 second bursts at 50% power and mix well in between heating.
  4. Work on a technique that helps ease the bite off of the spoon withouth creating a mess or causing the bite to land so the uncovered bottom is exposed. A tapping/twisting technique worked well for me – GENTLY though.

This is a quick tutorial on Bakerell for her Red Velvet Cake Balls. This is how you would make most any cake ball. The instruction for Cake pops is slightly different in that the cake cools and isn’t used until the next day and the dipping technique is different.

What you need:

  • 1 box, 18.25 ounces, of cake mix. Make according to instructions – don’t forget about the high altitude adjustments if necessary.
  • 9×13 inch baking pan
  • Large mixing bowl
  • 16 ounce container of frosting
  • Large metal spoon
  • Wax paper
  • 2 baking sheets
  • Plastic wrap
  • 32 ounces of candy coating, you may get two different kinds, one for a drizzle and one to coat
  • Deep microwave safe plastic bowl
  • Toothpicks
  • Resealable plastic bag or squeeze bottle (optional) if you plan to do a drizzle (NOT much candy coating is needed for the drizzle – used a Wilton disposable bag and barely cut the tip off and I think 1/2 to 3/4 cup of candy chips was plenty to cover 46 cake balls)

I loved doing this and was so happy they turned out well the first time. They were rich, satisfying, and looked pretty and delicious. We dropped some off to our neighbors while they were out for a surprise and had to email the picutres to my husband (more or less to get praise and tease 😉 )

I had to do a large photo! They tasted too good and turned out well for a first try!

A whole PLATTER full just waiting to be eaten!

Have you made cake bites or pops and how did it turn out? I have heard some horror stories and seen some great successes.

Here’s to YUMMY treats!

