The “Market Tote”

So for my birthday my mother-in-law got me:

1, 2, 3 Sew: Build Your Skills with 33 Simple Sewing Projects  by Ellen Luckett Baker. So nice of her!

I sewed my first project from the book for my sister-in-law who has a birthday coming up next weekend. This project can be found on her website: The Long Thread. It is the “Market Tote.”

It really tested my ability to do a zig-zag. I have an old Singer Touch and Sew Zig Zag 758. We are talking 1969-70.

My mom's sewing machine. So far she has been good to me!

It was my mom’s sewing machine that I have adopted and used religiously since the beginning of the year.

I am pretty happy with how it turned out.

I plan to pack some “me time” goodies in this tote. I am sending her Bath/Shower fizzies, lip balm, Body oil, eye pillow, cold pack, and a heat pack. All these were made by me. I think it will be the gift for all the ladies in my family and a good friend. I plan to put the lip balm, body oil, and bath/shower fizzie recipe on here along with links to the tutorials I followed to make my other projects in the next few days.

It will be great fun making them. They are all pretty quick projects!

Here’s the tote:

Market tote from 1,2,3 Sew

