Homemade Oreos – Take 2

So we made the recipe from Smitten Kitchen and they were very YUMMY! The cookie was wafer like with a chewy center and the cream center tasted just like the oreo cream center.

Here is how ours turned out:

Thanks Smitten Kitchen - ours turned out pretty good!

I really wanted to make oreos like my sister-in-law’s. I searched the web for homemade oreos and found one on Cooks.com

The recipe is as follows: (this is a double recipe – I cut the ingredients in half for our batch and left the icing as is)

2 packages of Devil’s Food Cake mix

4 Eggs

1-1/2 cup of Shortening

Mix all of the ingredients together thoroughly. I use a mini “ice cream” scoop to measure out what I am dropping on the cookie sheet and it works perfectly. It isn’t called an ice cream scoop, I think it is a cookie scoop.

Bake at 350 degrees for 8-12 minutes. Let the cookies cool on the pan.

In the meantime you can prepare your icing/frosting/filling:

8 oz of cream cheese

3 cups of powdered sugar

1/2 stick of butter.

Mix all of the ingredients and then you can pipe it on to one cookie and place another on top. I plan to store the made cookies in the refrigerator to see if that will keep them fresh.

We will see. I know so many people love these recipes. Next cookie I plan to make is an authentic sugar cookie with royal icing. I did find a recipe for that and will post once those are made!

Here they are:

Devil's Food Cake Oreo cookies with Cream Cheese Filling!

Here’s to yummy treats!

