Baby It’s Cold Out – Time for Soup

So I plan my meals one week at a time. I scour the local paper, Real Simple, my 3 ring binder busting at the seams, online, etc. to find meals for a picky 4 year old and a husband who lives on Raisin Bran, Doritos, and sandwiches. That can be tough for me, as I really enjoy cooking.

Today is Beef Stew (which will go over egg noodles once it is done) in the slow cooker. As I am getting all my ingredients out I had to get the crock pot out and take the latest meal I made in it out (Lasagna on Wednesday).

Slow Cooker linersI was so happy that I used a liner! It saved a messy clean up and I get to put the next meal in. Worth getting every time!

The recipe is as follows:

3# of boneless beef chuck cut into 1.5″ pieces. (This time I bought stew meat.)

3 Tbsp of flour

1 tsp of salt (I like Kosher salt for cooking and seasoning)

1/2 tsp of pepper

3 Tbsp of Canola oil

3 cups of beef broth

2 onions, halved and sliced thin

2 garlic cloves, crushed

3 Carrots sliced (I had a bag of shredded carrots, so I used that, my 4 year old may eat them if they are cut up smaller)

3/4 tsp dried thyme

1 package of egg noodles cooked (I used whole wheat, since I had them)

1/4 cup of parsley for garnish

Instructions:

1. Combine beef, flour, salt, and pepper to dredge the meat.

2. In a large skillet, over medium heat, brown the meat in small increments and put on a plate.

3. Pour broth into same skillet and bring to a boil. Remove from heat.

4. In a slow cooker, large enough to hold it all, combine onions, garlic, carrots, beef, broth and thyme. Cover and cook for 8 hours. Remember not to lift the lid as heat gets out and extends the cooking time. Don’t forget to use a liner and be gentle when initially mixing the ingredients – you don’t want to rip it!

5. Skim off any fat from the liquid in the slow cooker. Serve over the noodles and garnish with parsley.

Enjoy!

