What to do, What to do?

Next week the grandchildren are taking over the “family ranch” in Leoti, KS. This ranch has been in my husband’s family for 4 generations (including the grandkids). I told MiMi (grandma who lives the out there full time now) that I would be the back up adult for a few days. 6 kids to one adult is a little much, especial with 2 still in diapers. I would run for the pasture myself after a couple of hours, if not sooner!

So I was browsing TONS of blogs, okay maybe not 2000 plus, however; it was probably 10+. I was so inspired by Handmade Charlotte, You Are My Fave, Say Yes to Hoboken, Paint Me Plaid, Bloomize, Ambrosia Creative (many of the posts were linked through a couple of the blogs), etc.

I have come up four activities I am sure the older kids will do. The younger ones – okay let’s be honest, my son needs to be included with the younger ones despite turning five last week, will only be interested in the activities for about 3 minutes each. I think the older girls will sit for a bit.

Here is my list with links to give credit where credit is due: I *heart* Handmade Charlotte right now!

DIY Printable Sewing Cards - Handmade Charlotte

Photo from Handmade Charlotte – not my own

Print + Paint with Handmade Charlotte – Paint me Plaid via Handmade Charlotte

Photo from Handmade Charlotte – not my own.

Painting Pillows - These are fabric dolls - on madebyjoel seen on Handmade Charlotte

I am calling mine painted pillows because I will make 12″ square pillows out of painters canvas for the kids to paint on. I plan to use my Mini Cricut to cut out stencils such as animals, simple shapes and abstract patterns on freezer paper.

Photo from madebyjoel – not my own

Paint Chip Animals - Handmade Charlotte – a great and inexpensive idea!

Paint Chip Animals – not my own photo – from handmade charlotte

Another activity for just incase purposes - DIY Pinwheel Necklace by MerMag as a guest post on Handmade Charlotte

DIY Pinwheel Necklaces – MerMag for Handmade Charlotte – not my own

I think these activities should keep everyone busy for a while. This and the new “pool” (actually one of the circular “tubs” they put out in pastures to get water to the cattle) that is about 2′ deep and the new life size playhouse the grandparents got the kids. It should be a great way to end the summer break and be with family before everyone gets busy with school.

I will take photos of the projects to see how the kids responded. Wish us luck!

One thought on “What to do, What to do?

  1. Pingback: Obsessions – August 2 | Wanting 2B Creative

Comments are closed.